The last chapter of our Peru Adventures. It was an amazing experience altogether, and was new TerritoryΒ for me. But I’m glad I did it, I have so many stories from it! I hope you enjoy this final chapter and entry on my trip to Peru!

IMG_1006

Peru Adventures – Part 9. Iquitos

After our Amazon adventure, we spent our last few days in Peru mostly relaxing at the hostel. We stayed atΒ Golondrinas Hostel, which was lovely, as it had a pool. As we were winding down and getting ready to come back home, we didn’t do as much the three days we were there. We visited the Plaza de Armas as we always do, and took a look around the local neighbourhood.

We did visitΒ Pilpintuwasi, which is a nature and wildlife conservation park. Entry tickets were only 10 soles ($4 NZD) for students. Getting to the park itself was a bit trickier. You have to take a boat there, and arriving at the dock, you will be bombarded with many people offring to take you there. Sarah and I pushed our way through and went with an English speaking gentleman who took us over in a little boat. He was under the impression that I was a local taking Sarah around. He was surprised when I said I was also from New Zealand. We made it to the park in no time and went off to explore.

We saw lots of animals again. Toucans, parrots, butterflies…Orcilla, Sloths, capuchin and uakari monkeys, and more. These were all rescue animals and being looked after by mostly volunteers. We really enjoyed having a look at the butterfly farm too.

IMG_0992IMG_1006IMG_1002IMG_1012IMG_1027IMG_1279IMG_1286IMG_1296IMG_1316

All in all, this month long adventure was an amazing experience. I saw and did so much that I would never have done if I didn’t join Sarah on this trip. The pictures and videos I took are all safely stored so I can peruse them as much as I want. Relieving them through this blog again has been a blast! We did stop by Tahiti for a few days on the way back, but I’ll save that for another blog.

Angela.

3 thoughts on “Iquitos

Leave a Reply

