So if you follow me on Instagram, you may see that some time last week I uploaded a photo of some snickerdoodles I made! It was the first time I had baked in ages. The last thing I baked was a small carrot cake for Rory’s birthday back in October. But last week, I was craving something sweet and I didn’t feel like going to the store. Luckily, we had all the ingredients needed to make cookies!

The recipe I used was an old trusted one that I found years ago. The cookies come out soft which I prefer, I don’t like crunchy cookies. I normally half the recipe though, as it’s just me and Rory at home and it would take a while to get through all those cookies. You can find the recipe here.

I took pictures while I baked, and I’m very happy with how the cookies turned out! They’re all gone now, but Rory and I really enjoyed them. I forgot how fun baking is, and how rewarding it is to eat something that you’ve made 😛

20170409_144626
Wet ingredients

Butter, sugar and eggs get mixed together in a bowl.

20170409_145542
Dry ingredients blended with wet ingredients

Then combine flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in another bowl, before throwing them in with the butter mixture and mixing it up.

20170409_150054
Cinnamon and sugar coating

Then, while you cool that mixture in the fridge for a bit for some reason, mix together cinnamon and sugar in a little bowl. You’ll need it to dust the cookies in.

20170409_151351
Snickerdoodles ready to be baked

Then you scoop out your mixture into balls and sprinkle some of the cinnamon/sugar mixture onto it. You could also roll them in it, but I like sprinkling. I didn’t roll them very nicely either, but I just want to eat them so I’m not fussy.

20170409_152949

I baked them for around 15 minutes cause I forgot to preheat the oven. They came out smelling good, so I was hopeful. The toothpick came out clean as well, so I figured they were done. I also forget how much they expand during this part. Now, I let them cool.

10 minutes later I had lots of cookies!! 13 cookies. I already ate 2 before taking this photo, so technically 11.

20170409_154933
Snickerdoodles!!

There you have it, a quick little baking post. This was fun to do, I probably could’ve explained the recipe or process more. But I’m no professional cooking blog! I follow lots though, and I love looking at photos of food being made.

Have a happy Saturday everyone!

Angela.

16 thoughts on “Let’s Bake! (Snickerdoodles Edition)

  1. Ah snickerdoodle is always a forgotten favorite of mine! I prefer my cookies soft and chewy too…..you’ll have to share the full recipe with us!!!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment