Previously we’ve done A, B, C, and most recently D. Now we move onto E.

E is for Eight Simple Rules (For Dating My Teenage Daughter).

Image result for 8 simple rules for dating my teenage daughter
What a wonderful awkward family photo

So, I really struggled with E. It took me ages to think of a show that started with E. I sat and stared into space for ages. Until finally I just looked through wiki for shows starting with E. That’s how I came across 8 Simple Rules. I watched this a lot when I was young. I think it aired from 2002-2005, and it became one of these shows that my whole family watched after dinner. Anyone else remember when this aired?

The premise of the show starts off as typical family sitcom. You have the strict dad, caring mom, “hot” older sister who loves to go out, middle sibling who is a typical “nerd”, and the younger, annoying sibling. Pretty standard sitcom stuff, family friendly, and it gave us all a good laugh. As all family sitcoms do though, they also have their fair share of heartwarming moments.

The “Rules” I found out later are taken from a book by the same name of the show, written by W.Bruce Cameron. I thought I would include this, because it just gave me a bit of a chuckle

  1. Use your hands on my daughter and you’ll lose them after.
  2. You make her cry, I make you cry.
  3. Safe sex is a myth. Anything you try will be hazardous to your health.
  4. Bring her home late, there’s no next date.
  5. If you pull into my driveway and honk, you better be dropping off a package because you’re sure not picking anything up (Alternative rule #5: Only delivery men honk. Dates ring the doorbell. Once.)
  6. No complaining while you’re waiting for her. If you’re bored, change my oil.
  7. If your pants hang off your hips, I’ll gladly secure them with my staple gun.
  8. Dates must be in crowded public places. You want romance? Read a book.

Image result for 8 simple rules gifsΒ Image result for 8 simple rules gifsΒ Image result for 8 simple rules gifsΒ Related image

Since, this show is more fuzzier in my memory as I watched it longer than the other show I talked about, I’ll keep this short.

The main characters are:

Paul (Played by John Ritter)

Image result for 8 simple rules paul

He’s the dad. He is often hypocritical with how he raises his children, and has double standards, particularly for the daughters. However, he really does care for his family, and wants the bests for them.

Cate (Played by Katey Segal)

Image result for 8 simple rules cate

She’s the mum. She’s the straight character. She was more or less a rebel growing up, and similar to the oldest child, Bridget, and often can relate to what her daughters are going through.

Bridget (Played by Kaley Cuoco)

Image result for 8 simple rules bridget

The eldest child, Bridget is beautiful, ditzy and popular. She loves her looks and popularity, and boys. She sometimes displays little nuggets of knowledge, but this is mostly played off for laughs. Her character begins to mature during the second and third season.

Kerry (Played by Amy Davidson)

Image result for 8 simple rules kerry

The unhappy middle child. Often prone to angst and sarcasm. She is book clever, but a little naive. She gets annoyed at all the attention her older sister gets, and hates being compared to her. However, she often teams up with Bridget against their parents, or younger brother.

Rory (Played by Martin Spanjers)

Image result for 8 simple rules rory

The youngest of the siblings. He is dad’s favourite (being the boy).Β He loves tattling on his older sisters and seeing them get in trouble. He’s the comic relief, and is often just around, making jokes or trying to find out what his sisters are up to.

Something else that stood out to me was how the show deals very seriously with the subject of death, and how this affects loved ones. John Ritter, who plays the dad, Paul passed away early in the second season. The show went on hiatus, and when it returned, it chose not to recast or replace the character, but deal with it on the show. I still remember watching the episode “Goodbye”, and feeling very emotional about it. I hadn’t experienced loss at this age, but as I regularly watched the show, it led to conversations with my family about the idea of death, grief and loss on a personal level.

Image result for 8 simple rules gifs

The show continues on, and introduces Cate’s father, and cousin to join the main cast in the second and third season. Eventually, we stopped watching the show. I think something else interested us, and I think the show was eventually cancelled. It’s still a show that sticks with me however, and is worth looking into.

That’s it for E. F will be coming up on Friday. I have been trying to choose between two shows that I love a lot (for different reasons). I’ll see which I land on.

Angela.

12 thoughts on “8 Simple Rules (For Dating My Teenage Daughter)

Leave a Reply

