30 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 12

Welcome one and all to Day 12. You guys know the drill. Make sure to check out whatΒ MaggieΒ andΒ CheilaΒ answer for these challenges too!

Day 12 is about Places I Have Visited.

A lot of you may already know about all my travels, because it’s a big interest in my blog. So this post may link to a lot of older posts that will be able to tell you in more detail about these places.

Let’s start locally.

New Zealand, my home country.

Image result for new zealand map cities
Here’s a basic map of NZ that leaves out a lot of cities, but it’s the one that shows all the places I’ve been to

 

North Island

Wellington

I have been to Wellington, I have featured it a lot in my blog as I live here. I say you can still visit your hometown though, there’s places and haunts I like to frequent and photograph. My Leisurely Walks and Drives series is proof of that!

Top 5 of Wellington City,Β Walking around Wellington, andΒ What else to do in WellingtonΒ are all older posts where I talked about this wonderful city.

Tongariro National Park

One of the great walks of New Zealand is the Tongariro Crossing. It’s a full or half day hike depending on whether you want to also take on Mt Doom. Literally. Mt Ngaruhoe is Mt Doom in Lord of the Rings. We chose not to climb it, because an extra 3 hours of climbing on top of the 6 we were already doing seemed like too much. It’s around Taupo is the easiest way I can think to describe it.

Tongariro Crossing

Auckland

I recently went back to Auckland for the weekend. However I have been there numerous times over my life. I haven’t done any posts on the visits I’ve done there with my family though. Maybe that’ll be a future TBT post.

Taupo

I have technically visited here, I mean I have never stayed longer than a few hours. But for road trips to and from Auckland, we always stop here. The lake is always beautiful and Huka Falls is pretty cool. I only seem to have a photo of Huka Falls though.

Huka Falls

Rotorua

I haven’t been in ages, but we have made a few trips here when I was younger. I only have the vaguest memories though. I should return.

family7

Napier/Hastings/Hawkes Bay

We did a family road trip with a few other Filipino families for a long weekend. It was fun! This was where I bought that crazy wig and wore it for a whole day.

Bonus place! Did you know that NZ has the record for the longestΒ place name in the world? There was a sign about it at the holiday park we stayed at, unfortunately we did not go to there.

Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateaturipukakapikimaungahoronukupokaiwhenuakitanatahu. Try saying that one time fast. Here’s a video my sister took of the sign. I’m standing in the way, but I move.

South Island

Blenheim

I went here every two years growing up to spend Christmas with my grandparents. I have so many memories here πŸ˜€ Crossing on the ferry, visiting Pollard Park, countless Christmas lunches…

Nelson

A short(ish) drive from Blenheim, we would occasionally come here for a day visit to see aunts and cousins during Christmas holidays as well.

Kaikoura

We’ve been here a few times, again during our Christmas holidays. I always loved seeing the seals.

 

There’s probably more places in NZ, but I can’t remember specifics any more.

Philippines

Manila

Image result for philippines map
A basic map of the Philippines

I lived in Manila for two and a half years in the 90’s. I don’t remember much of it except that it was hot. I could try do a TBT post about this, but I have such vague memories…

I also think we may have visited Palawan for a week, but I do not recall specifically where.

 

Australia

Image result for australia map cities
Here is a basic map of Australia. Sydney is on the East side,Β right on the side.

Sydney

I came here once on a layover when I was younger to the Philippines. Then last September, I spent a week here with Rory on our first proper vacation together. We had so much fun! We visited so much stuff, and had so much fun planning the trip.

If you’re interested in reading all about it, just search the Sydney tag. I’ll list a few of my favourites though:

Chinese Garden of Friendship,Β Darlington Harbour,Β Blue Mountains,Β Bondi to Coogee.

Fiji

Image result for fiji map island
A Basic Map of Fiji, Taveuni Β is an island on the top. Nadi is on the main island on the left.

You guys all know about honeymoon if you’ve been on my blog for a while. It was incredible! We spent most of our days in Taveuni, but we also spent a little time in Nadi.

 

Honeymooning Through Food,Β Honeymooning in Fiji

Peru

Image result for peru map cities
A basic map of Peru. We hopped all over the place.

My most epic vacation, of course, is my Peru adventures with Sarah! We visited seven citites in all, as well as spending time hiking to Machi Picchu and hanging out in the Amazon Rainforest!

I’m going to list all of them here so you can pick and choose what to look at if you want. They all come with loads of pictures and rambles!

Lima,Β Arequipa,Β Cusco,Β Puno,Β Salkantay Trek,Β Machu Picchu,Β Ica (and Huacachina),Β Paracas,Β Amazon Rainforest, andΒ Iquitos.

Fun Fact: I wrote all of these Peru posts within three days. It was the week before my wedding, and for some reason I decided to start daily blogging. These posts carried me through the days leading up to my wedding, and my honeymoon πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„

Anyway, this was fun to do. Now you know a detailed account of places I’ve visited. I probably could’ve made this shorter but you know how much rambling means to me πŸ˜€

Angela.

22 thoughts on “30 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 12

  1. I have traveled to France (too young to remember), Costa Rica (studying abroad for two weeks), and England (Bristol Pilgrimage). In my own country, have been to a number of places like Colorado, Missouri, Alaska, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Tennessee and New York

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I hope to go back to France someday.

        Well, on that England Trip, one day on the pilgrimage was spent in Wales so I can that on my list as well.

        I hope to sometime in the future to go on a mission trip abroad. I actually hope to go to a place like Spain or Mexico, but has to the right timing since I want to see Les Mis in Spanish someday. Why not because I have been learning Spanish starting in high school and continued learning it in college

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you went to so many cool places, and those pictures were so pretty. Great post!πŸ‘
    Btw, I tagged you for the Blue Sky tag, so if you’re interested in doing it, you can check out the rules on my blog.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh carry on, fellow rambler. We have got to keep the flag flying high. I remember your Peru adventures because I had just then come across your blog. Times flies. That was a lot of stunning places and you look so cute in the photos with your family. I love the sound of the Tongariro hike btw. And the longest place name is a tongue twister hey. I tried and I tried. I need a lot of beer/wine to make that happen.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes! I remember first seeing your blog name come across my notifications! πŸ˜„ Then I found your blog and now we all ramble together πŸ™‚
      I still cant pronounce the longest place name, it’s an amazing tongue twister πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Maggie! There’s so many beautiful places down here πŸ˜€ I still have more to see which is crazy. And yes, I have tried and tried to say that place name. But I still get tonguetwisted πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Yes, there really are! Isn’t it awesome how many new places there are to explore so close to home? I’ve lived in Georgia my whole life, and I’m still finding great new places to visit that aren’t too far from us all the time!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

