Songs From Work

So this post is a little random, the idea popped into my head because I was thinking about all the latest songs that the kids at my centre have been interested in. We love to sing songs. A lot. The songs often go in and out of popularity, but they’re all catchy, and I will come home inevitably singing or humming some earworm and getting it stuck in Rory’s head. So I thought I would share with you guys, the current popular songs going around my centre.

The Classics

As always, there are the usual songs that are popular.

Wheels on the Bus is great. There’s lots of actions, and recently, one of the 14 month old girls has worked out how to do the “Shh” noise, so she always wants us to do the song.

Row, Row, Row Your Boat. But with the crocodile ending of course, because what one year old doesn’t love screaming.

Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed is also huge right now. We love to do the actions, and the kids love wagging their finger as we say “No more monkeys jumping on the bed”

The Cultural

So New Zealand is a bicultural (or multicultural really) country. The Maori language, Te Reo is often used in the centre. We have lots of key phrases we use, and do our best to incorporate songs and prayers in Te Reo during out day to day activities. These include Tutira Mai, Ma is white (Colours), One Day a Taniwha, etc.

Currently, our toddlers are obsessed with Poi E. A kiwi classic, all in Te Reo. I recommend you guys watch the song. I have always loved it myself. Plus look at all the 80s fashion!

One particular little boy will swing his pois around like projectiles, and we have to move him to his own area so he doesn’t hit his friends as much. Our pois are soft, as they’re made from cotton and plastic, but he swings them fast enough that his friends get annoyed when he accidentally swings it into their face. For those wondering what a poi is, it’s featured a lot in the clip. It’s a small ball attached on the end of a string which is used a lot in Maori dance and culture.

The Pop Cultural

I’ve mentioned before that the kids at my centre love Moana. And to be honest so do I. I have no problem playing the songs, and I sing along with the kids as well. Hearing 2-3 year olds belt out “I am Moanaaaaaaaaaaaaaa” is hilarious and adorable.

Another big hit for songs currently is from Trolls.

Poppy’s “Get Back up Again” is very upbeat and good for dancing. Plus there’s a one year old girl who loves it when we sing this together. We get very into it.

As is “Can’t Stop the Feeling”, kids are such creative dancers. I love letting loose with them and dancing alongside them. It’s always a highlight of the day.

The Christian Songs

So my centre is a Christian one, every morning we sing worship songs, and there are a few we will rotate between. There are two clear favourite ones though that the kids will sing with a lot of gusto.

Light of the World

We did this in our Christmas show last year as well.

10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord Oh My Soul)

Another favourite, when that chorus kicks in, it’s fun seeing the kids singing with their all.

The Never Ending Ones

That being said, there are some songs that we first introduced ages ago, but keep coming back. Like the one we did for our Christmas show, but still gets played everyday at the request of the littlies.

Baby Shark

This is never not in my head after work. I sing or hum it so constantly that now Rory knows it. The actions are good though, even our youngest have started getting involved and love to try mimic the actions. Especially when it comes to the running away part. But don’t start showing it to kids, it’s fun the first 10 times, but after that, it takes a lot of energy to stay upbeat when they’re requesting it for the umpteenth time.

Herman the Worm

This is bigger in the preschool side, but I hear it a lot. It’s so catchy, and also gets stuck in my head a lot. The kids love to sing this song, and it keeps coming up every so often in our centre.

That’s all the popular songs at our centre at the moment. Do you guys know any of these songs?

Angela.

11 thoughts on “Songs From Work

  1. I was actually smiling as I was reading this. I can totally relate to you, Angela! I would go home with the songs constantly playing on my mind! It was just amazing to realize that “our kids” listen and love the same songs! And in the past few days, PinkFong’s baby shark keeps haunting me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you can relate! All these songs are always in my head even long after I’ve gone to bed XD
      I love that kids everywhere love all the same song. And yes, that baby shark has been haunting me since December!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

