Behind the Scenes of LifeofAngela

Hi!! So, I’ve officially been blogging for three months. I’m a quarter of the way to my first official blogiversary. Woohoo! I also want to thank everyone who has joined me in this crazy blogging journey! I really appreciate the support, it’s motivated and encouraged me more than you know πŸ™‚

Image result for pusheen gif eyes
Not my image, but I love Pusheen

To celebrate, I thought I would do a little behind the scenes post. I’ve been asked (both joking and serious, maybe) about how I’m able to consistently blog every day. Multiple times a day even. I haven’t missed a day, and I’m really proud of that. So, here’s a little post on how I do it. Just as a disclaimer, this is what I do, it may not work for you guys. We’re all different and we know what we’re capable of. What works for someone, may not work for you. That being said, here’s what I do!

Banner

Plan and Schedule

From the beginning (not my very first post though), I planned my posts. I wanted to share my travels. My most recent one had been Sydney, so I planned those out and scheduled them over a week. It gave me content for everyday, and by scheduling them at the same time everyday, it meant that a post from me could be expected at a certain time each day (I like routines, I’ve said that right?). I still do this now. During the weekend, I plan the posts for the upcoming week. I don’t always write them all, but I at least plan them and write the majority of them. During the week I sometimes shuffle things around depending on my mood and what I want to post earlier. On the very rare occasion, if I’m really not happy with a post, I will trash it, and put in a different one instead. I may be a bit of a perfectionist with my blog at times. Then the next weekend, the routine starts again.

I currently use a random calendar off Powerpoint for my planning. I would use nice stationary, but I like erasing and changing things a lot, and I would hate to get a nice planner messy.

Here’s my final planner from the last few months.

May Plan

Inspiration

Now all this is great, but you guys may ask. Angela, how do you come up with a week’s worth of posts, for everyday?

I have a lot of different avenues I come up with to get ideas.

Most inspiration comes from my life. Travel is obviously huge, once I exhausted that though, I thought of what else. Family is huge for me, I write about them often. In fact, I have an upcoming planned post next week in celebration of my brother’s birthday. Growing up is another topic, it gives me lots of ideas to look back on, what I could do different, what I wish I knew, old vacations, you get the idea. Lately, I’ve enjoyed going through my old photos and coming up with a throwback post idea from there. I also like listing favourites, what I get up to, baking, etc. You get the picture. My brain just goes places and I follow it.

Sometimes I do come across a blogger’s block, if you will. That’s when I head over to Pinterest. There are so many ideas on there for blogging! Including challenges, they link you to lots and lots of ideas. I like to go through and see what I might like to write about.

Also, tags and awards are a great way to write more posts, but I personally like doing them once, then combining later nominations, as I like to post a variety. But hey, that’s just me! Also, if someone does a blog post I like, I bookmark it and come back to it later. I will obviously give them credit and a shout out, but it does mean more content, and it also shows appreciation for their amazing idea. This goes for collaborations too.

Series are also a good way to come up with content. As it’s something easier to write about, as there’s already a set outline. I have this at the moment with my A-Z Challenge, Let’s Bake, Weekend Review, Weekly Photo Challenges, TBT, Monthly Favourites…you get the idea.

Write

Now, from all this, my head is buzzing. I’ve planned a week’s worth of posts, and I start writing them out. I always have a ton of drafts. I like to work on one until I hit a block, then I will tackle something else. That’s how I write best. All over the place. Eventually once I’m happy with a post, I add tags, pictures, sometimes a featured image, and schedule it.

Image result for pusheen gif eyes

Breaks

This is important, and I sometimes have to remind myself to take them (or Rory will). With this crazy routine I’ve just described, it’s easy to burn out. When I’m really stuck on a few posts, or I’m getting tired/hungry/cranky, I hit save, and then close the window. I give myself a rest, wander around, read and catch up on blogs, colour, go on YouTube. On the rare occasion, I take a nap. Then I get back to it.

Image result for pusheen gif relax

I don’t always manage to write all my week’s posts during the weekend, but I do the bulk of it, so I don’t have to worry about writing content too much during the week.

Fresh Eyes

I don’t leave it there of course. Either the night before, or morning of (sometimes both), I will reread my post with a pair of fresh eyes. I will make changes if I think I should, correct spelling, add/change pictures, and then hit that schedule button once more. Then it’s published for you all to see!

That’s It!

Seriously, that’s it. That’s how I manage to keep and stick to this crazy daily schedule of mind. It got to another level last month with the 30 Day Blogging Challenge, but part of the work was already done since I had to follow prompts. Β I hope this was helpful, or at least gave you a look into how I blog. If you think this isn’t possible for you then fair enough, I have stated how addicted I am to blogging, and that I manage to pull up manic energy out of nowhere to do this XD

Image result for pusheen gif work
I like Pusheen in case you can’t tell

See you all on the internet!

Angela.

54 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes of LifeofAngela

  1. Wow congrats, I thought you had been blogging a lot longer that 3 months! I am a big planner too… I bought a paper planner and hand write my ideas in pencil, then I erase or change them as I go but it helps me stay inspired!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Abbey! I have had a few people be surprised that I’ve only been blogging for three months. I think it’s cause I post everyday, there’s just so much content out there it’s like I’ve been here much longer XD I take it as a compliment though πŸ™‚
      I couldn’t do that with a paper planner, even writing in pencil, I would get too annoyed if it doesn’t erase completely XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Angela. This was an amazing post. I cannot believe how organized you are. It’s truly inspiring. And how easily ideas flow to you!

    You are seriously a natural at writing. Considering how much content you produce every day, your ability to communicate is seamless. Never ever feeling forced. Honestly, that in itself is a skill to be proud of!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Linda πŸ™‚
      I’m not organised in much, but when it comes to blogging I’ve surprised even myself. I have always loved writing, and blogging has been an amazing creative outlet. I love it so much, writing posts (and coming up with ideas) is always so much fun. And then of course, there’s the support I get on each post, you, in particular, Linda, are one of my best blogging friends and I love seeing what you think of my posts πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh Ang! That really warms my heart to hear! ❀️😍 Keep doing you. You have permanent fan/supporter/reader/follower in me! ☺️☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You are such an awesome blogger, Angela! πŸ’œ I loved getting to read about how you blog. (Little Pusheen added so much character to this post, hehe!) Writing on the weekend is a great idea, and I agree, breaks are an essential. For a while, I’ll run out of ideas, then I’ll have so many that all I do is write πŸ˜‚ then I’ll burn myself out. It’s a never-ending process, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Maggie!! ❀
      I love Pusheen, and there are so many cute gifs XD
      I sometimes do that too, where I feel like I'm tapped and I can't think of anything, then after that break, I have so many and I can't stop XD It really is a never ending cycle πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Pusheen icons! πŸ˜€ Loved them apart from the great tips. I am impressed by the planners. I would never end up sticking to them. Whenever I think of scheduling a particular post the next day, I end up wavering and putting up another. Does that happen to you? But you do need discipline to put up a few posts a day. It might get too stressful otherwise. You have a gorgeous weekend! xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Arundhati! I change every now and then with my planned posts. I shift things around and sometimes write a different one to post earlier. But most of the time, I’m happy with what I plan and stick to it. Otherwise it probably would get stressful, if I’m always trying to write up a post the night before XD
      You have a great weekend too! We have a long weekend down here in NZ so I get an extra day off πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My mom actually told me don’t make it look forced if you blog everyday. When it comes to blogging, sometimes I have to blog at different times throughout the day depending on certain factors. Like in semesters, can change depending on when my classes are or when I am available

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I also work from many drafts and I bounce around between them, working on each until there’s one that I like enough to post. You are definitely super organized. I’m aspiring to a little more organization which I’ll be working on in the next few months.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on completing three months. Wow that’s so much planning! That’s an amazing job. I’ve been blogging for over two years and I still can’t publish everyday without fail!!! You’re doing great. Keep up the great job. I loved this behind the scenes tour. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations Angela! 3 months of hard work, fun and meeting people.. I wish I could plan it all out like this, I will try it, I am inspired already, It helped I would guess. Thanks for sharing dear.. enjoy your weekend

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow!! Am inspired by your effort and hard work. It’s amazing to get really satisfied by what you do. I think the real essence of existence is knowing what to do, doing it and fulfilling your purpose. I don’t know about you but for me i get it hard at times to inspire myself someone have to pull the trigger and i think you just did.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pusheen is so cute. I admire how you blog everyday Ang! I tried to do it in May but I just cant! I cant seem to come with words and what to write about. You’re so organized and your writing just flow. It’s a talent!! I always love reading your post. 😊😊

    I also like the Have you met idea you started. πŸ’•πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow your planning and scheduling blows my way out of the water!!! Girrrrl you are so professional and organized!!! I also realized that breaks are so important and totally necessary! Sometimes I take breaks longer than I like (for traveling reasons) and it totally gives me anxiety being away for so long but when I get back I just appreciate and love blogging that much more!!!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Great Idea on the calendar and marking off your posts so you know where you are!! I can barely make twice a week without it taking over fully! Im ok with 2 though and the a 3rd surprise one πŸ˜‚ I follow quite a few blogs though and I can never seem to get them all covered. How do you fit them all in?!?!?!
    The prompt idea is cool, will be looking into that!!
    Thanks for sharing!!!!
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hazel!! I need my calendar to be able to keep up with this crazy blogging schedule I’ve made for myself XD
      I definitely spend a few hours everyday just reading and catching up on everyone’s blogs. I’ve stopped following much people though, cause it was starting to get extreme XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

