Past Letters (and 600 followers!)

Hi! Before I get into today’s planned post, I wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone, as I’ve reached another milestone. I now have over 600 followers! I am both proud and bewildered at the (alarming) rate my blog has been growing. I really don’t think I can call this blog little anymore XD Seriously though, I reached 500 only 10 days ago. I was keeping an eye on the count, and I thought I had time to think of a special post to do in celebration of reaching 600, but it came waaay faster than expected! So I will simply say thank you once againΒ to you guys. I will think of something to do when I reach 700. I have no idea what though, but if the numbers could rise slower that would be great, cause it is lowkey freaking me out πŸ˜› But also, thank you!!

Back to the planned post.

Have you guys heard ofΒ FutureMe? You can use it to send letters to your future Β self. It sends it to your email, and you choose the date. Once you write the letter, you need to verify it’s your email, and then it gets saved and sent to you on that date. I found it in the beginning of 2015, when I was just out of uni, jobless and just spending time on the net. I wrote one to myself one year in the future, as well as one that I will receive on my 30th birthday. I honestly can’t remember what I wrote. It bugs me, and I won’t get it for another 5 years! Anyway, I thought it would be cool to share with you guys the letters I wrote to myself.

I mostly write one at the beginning of the year, and the date is set for the following year. I’ve done this every year since 2015. My first one was written on January 1 2015, and I received it on January 2 2016.

Dear FutureMe,
So right now its the beginning of 2015, and you’re alone in the house listening to BabyMetal. I’m hoping that while I read this email I have a few things sorted, speaking mostly in the career department. I really hope you have a full time permanent job and we’re on our way to getting Provisional Registration. Also it would be cool if we had saved up a decent bit, cause being financially stable would be a nice change. Then we can go to cafes without feeling guilty. Also I assume we’re still with Rory, it would suck if we’re not, but I see no reason for us to no longer be together in one years’ time. It would also be good if we made more headway and maybe go for full license, but that doesn’t really matter. I hope Kruti’s wedding was fun, and that we didn’t screw up as maid of honour. Basically I hope things are still the same, except that I would have an actual job and decent savings. Maybe even planning to do an overseas trip at some time πŸ™‚
Anyway..this will be interesting to read. I wonder if I’ll remember I wrote this…Probably not

From the past Angela

So let’s unravel this. Early 2015 me was really freaked about my job prospects. Also, Babymetal? That rings a faint bell. Early 2016 me had saved up a lot. Way more than 2015 me thought I would. As for Kruti’s wedding, that didn’t happen in the end, but that’s a long story, and not mine to tell. But I did what past Angela asked, I got a stable job and decent savings and I’m still with Rory.

This next letter was written on January 3 2016, and I received it on Jan 2 of this year.

Dear FutureMe,
Hallo again, this is the second year in a row you’ve done this, but you know what? It’s fun
In 2014, we weren’t in a very stable place financially or career speaking, but right now, we are πŸ˜€
I hope that we’re still working, preferably in Β  Β  Β , or else somewhere with better pay. Hopefully we are making much more headway with getting teacher reg. Cause that is our work goal.
Savings wise, I may be crazy but hopefully we’ve gotten up to twice as much! We’re currently near Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β  grand, so it would be cool if we had Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β grand or something. Or else maybe we bought a car or house, or are looking at one.
That brings me onto the next thing, I hope we’ve found a nice place to live, since the lease at Β  Β  Β  Β Β St is about to go. Hopefully some place we’d stay in longer than a year. Or maybe we’re buying a place now.
Now on to the last bit, relationship πŸ˜€
Again, we better still be with Rory. No idea if by this point it’s still just bf/gf, or more. Looking at it now, I don’t think we’d get engaged in a year. I know Rory isn’t too keen on the idea. Right now though, even though we haven’t told him, I know that 2015 Angela is keen on the idea of marriage and babies. Not necessarily together, even though ma and pa would be disappointed. But in the long haul, maybe waiting on that would be good.
Ooh ooh, I hope we managed to organise an overseas trip, that would be so cool. But again, our overall planning skills have never been too great…
Oh well, I hope 2015 was overall a good year!
And let’s keep making these letters ,it’s fun.
See you soon(ish) 25 year old me,

From
24 Year Old Angela

Early 2016 me was super happy with how my savings and job was going. She was also reeeal optimistic on my saving skills. I took out some personal info, but you guys get the gist. I was happy in my job and financial status. Our housing situations was again rocky at the time, but we sorted it out as we always do. What I find the funniest is that early 2016 me seemed pretty damn certain that marriage wouldn’t be happening any time soon, even though she seems pretty keen on the idea. I don’t remember writing this, but I wonder why I felt strongly about that. Well jokes on you, early 2016 me, you get engaged in a few months. We do also go on a overseas trip together, we went to Sydney!!

I also wrote one extra letter, on November 15 2016, to me on my wedding day. I was midst planning and starting to freak about details. I kept telling myself not to stress, as long as we’re legally married at the end of the day and we had fun, that’s all that mattered. I was at the same time wanting it to hurry up and be our wedding day already, which is why I wrote this. What’s funny though is that Future Me is set in US, so they sent it on their March 25, which was my March 26. Β Ah timezones.

Dear FutureMe,
Hey, so today is your wedding day. Holy shit. You’re probably super excited and nervous and anxious. First things first, do not stress about details. Knowing us, we’ll probably be thinking about schedules and other random details. Don’t stress, remember we thought about letting things go. Cause the important part is you’re getting married to Rory πŸ™‚
Also I’m sure we look awesome in our dress, and you leave for Fiji tomorrow for a week of fun with your husband. Things are looking pretty good.
From my point, I still have lots to plan, but you just enjoy it!! Rory is amazing and I’m so excited for us to be married and legally state how much we want to be together.
That’s all I can think to say for now, also I wonder who will be there. Did Sarah and Chris make it? I hope so…
Also don’t worry about peeps having fun or not, we got the instant camera, and everyone coming should be chill about hanging and mingling in fancy dress.

Breathe, and don’t stress. Take it all in, as everyone says that the day just flies by. Try sneak in some alone time, but if not, then hey, there’s Fiji for that.

I’m jealous of you right now future Angela, cause I still got to wait through birthdays, christmas and new years before I’m in your position πŸ™‚

From,
Past Angela

I didn’t read this till I was already mid honeymoon. So it was funny. I did enjoy my wedding day, I did stress a little, especially the half hour before the ceremony, as we were just hanging around waiting. But once I walked down the aisle to Rory, I was just happy. I didn’t evenΒ see the floral displays I painstakingly thought about months before as we were up there. It wasn’t until the reception when I looked around and saw it and thought ‘Ooh, that looks nice, was that always there’. I was lost in a happy little fog that day, and I’m still clinging to those memories. It was the best day. And I did look awesome in my dress.

So that’s it for now. I can’t for the life of me remember what I wrote in the latest letter. I’m excited for it to come through next Jan. I do suggest you guys check out Future Me if this seems like your kind of thing. It’s a nice thing to look forward to, and to reflect on where you are now, compared to where you were then, you know?

P.S. I was trying to comment on posts last night, and a bit this morning, but they seems to be vanishing again. Is it turning up in spam? If you could check and unmark me as spam, that would be great. If it’s not…then I have no idea. But I either need to email Akismet again, or just not comment for a while which sucks.

Angela.

60 thoughts on “Past Letters (and 600 followers!)

    1. XD haha, thanks Cheila! I do recommend the site though, it’s nice to get letters from our past selves. Also! While I have you attention, I’m pretty sure my latest comments on your posts have gone to spam, cause they’re doing that vanishing thing. If you could check, I would be eternally grateful, as that means I can email Akismet and moan at them cause its happening again πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I know what you mean. I think it’s a sign of really great content. Which I think you have! I just hope they continue to enjoy it and we improve as we go along 🀞🏾🀞🏾

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations!!! πŸ˜„πŸŽ‰ I love the idea of writing a future me! It would be great to write one for when specific things happen like I start a new college course or go to a new country as well as in 5 years time. I think I might write one! Emailing it sounds like a better idea than writing it as I would probably end up opening it before the day I intend to πŸ˜‚ hope you have a lovely day full of celebrations for your achievement!! πŸ˜„πŸ’—

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Elsie!! It is so much fun! I have mostly been doing it every year, but for special occasions is a good idea too! It is better emailing it, as you literally can’t see them until the day XD I’m dying to find out what I wrote to my 30 year old all those years ago, but I still have so long to wait XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. CONGRATULATIONS ANGELAAAA! (Yes, all caps for stronger emotion hahaha) The blogging community is happy to have you! You’re clearly a very interesting blogger. πŸ’•

    Thanks for sharing this site! I might try sending some letters to my future self too. So exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you so much Janah!! I’m so happy to be part of this amazing community! You guys are the best πŸ˜€
      I really do recommend giving this site a go! It’s so much fun receiving these letters from your past selves πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow I’ve never heard of this, and it’s so cool. Heading to go write one for myself. Congratulations on reaching six hundred Angela. 700 is probably in a few days time so start planning πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on the 600, Angela! Like Cheila says, soon you shall touch 1000 soon. Future Me is a fantastic idea. I have a small bunch of letters which runs along similar lines and I bought it at a Waterstones in Northampton – https://www.waterstones.com/product/letters-to-my-future-self/lea-redmond/9781452125374.
    It is coming in by ship so I wonder if it is time for me to open them yet. It’s fun to see what was on your mind in the past and to see how things have turned out in the present. Lovely post! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Arundhati! πŸ™‚
      I really love using Future Me, I would love to do a paper letter, but I’m worried I would lose it, or even just open it up ahead of time because curiousity would get the better of me XD
      With Future Me, I literally can’t touch it until the date, so its better suited for me πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes unless you are a forgetful wombat like me, you might be tempted to open it. I was reminded of it because of your post. I shall check out this Future Me πŸ™‚ Maybe I can make a super angsty letter and make future me wonder.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow that sounds great. Thanks for introducing me to Future Me. When we look back, it seems that sometimes we worry about things that we really shouldn’t need to worry about! Or maybe it’s just me. Writing letters to my Future self is a great idea. And congrats on getting 600 followers! Keep up the great job. I agree with Cheila. It won’t be long until you get to the 1k mark! I’m sure your great content and regular posting schedule are what keeps attracting followers! πŸ™‚ Also, occasionally WordPress goes through this phase where it marks your comments as spam! All we can do is check our spam folders regularly and ask other bloggers to do the same!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Future Me is so amazing!! I really recommend giving it a go πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much! I never thought I’d get to 600, and its making the reality of reaching 1000 seem possible πŸ™‚
      Wordpress does seem to do that every now and then, hopefully one day they can find a permanent fix πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, I’ll definitely give it a try! 😁 Do keep writing. The milestones will keep coming, faster than ever! πŸ˜‰ Ohh yes, hopefully they’ll find a way out of the whole spam mess!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

