Harry Potter Party!

Did you guys know that Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone came out on June 26 1997? Which means today marks the 20th anniversary! How awesome is that! In recognition of this, I’m sure you guys have seen the new fancy covers they’ve come out with.

20170604_144633

Isn’t the Hufflepuff one the best??? (no bias here πŸ˜› )

20170604_145323

Before I get started, my fellow Harry Potter fans and blogging friendsΒ HannahΒ andΒ PamelaΒ have also posted about this Harry Potter milestone too!

The Books

Back in June 1997, I was only 5 and a half years old. We were living in the Philippines and I didn’t even have a clue what Harry Potter was.

In fact, I didn’t start reading Harry Potter until I was 11. That’s right, I didn’t start reading them till 2003, when there were already a few out. Order of the Phoenix was just coming out and people were freaking out cause apparently someone kinda important dies. I had not much interest in the books, but I picked one up at random from the school library, and I was hooked. It was Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Yes, I read the fourth one first. No idea why, ask 11 year old me. Once I finished that, I went back and read the first three. There was no turning back at this point.

I read the fifth and loved it. In 2005, I read Half-Blood Prince and finished at midnight, yelling at my sister about Horcruxes. In 2007, I read Deathly Hallows and cried at the end. I loved these books, since finishing Deathly Hallows, I have gone on to read the entire series countless times.

Image result for harry potter party

The Movies

When the first one came out, I had no interest, but everyone else did. I was the new kid back from overseas and had no idea what this fuss was all about. After I got into the books, I went to the movies to see Chamber of Secrets. It was okay. I wasn’t wowed though. Neither was my dad, as he fell asleep. I lost interest.

Then around 2007, they were marathoning the first four on tv. I decided to watch Prisoner of Azkaban and my mind was blown. The movie was good! It didn’t follow the book to the letter, but the acting was decent, the effects were good, and it looked good. I was suspicious that this was a one-off deal. So the next night, I watched Goblet of Fire. It was also good, the child actors were now growing up and beginning to hold their own. I was getting attached to the movie characters as much as the ones in the book. Well shit, now I need to see it in the theatre.

Order of the Phoenix, I watched that in the movies. Then while waiting for the sixth to come out, my friends and I had Harry Potter movie marathons where we watched all five. We watched Half Blood Prince in theatres in 2008 and cried. Then we had more marathons. Finally, we watched both parts of the Deathly Hallows at midnight screenings in 2010 and 2011. During part 2, I bawled my eyes out and cheered with the crowd. I was among my peeps, and you could feel the emotion in the room. I went home exhausted at 3 am, and got up for a 9am class for uni. It was cancelled as our professor was sick. So two of my friends who also went to the midnight viewing, decided to see it again. I agreed. We went and cried again. Later that week, a friend who hadn’t seen it wanted to go. I came with, and yes I cried. I now watch it without crying but I still get all the feels. I have yet to do a marathon with all eight movies. I don’t know if I could now, but I would be willing to try.

Image result for harry potter party

The Obsession

This all helped to fuel my love of the magical world of Harry Potter. I joined Pottermore the second it opened. I was sorted into Hufflepuff which I always felt a kinship with. It led to endless conversations with my friends, and speculations about how it would end before we knew. It led to me owning all the books, and all the movies. It led to my friends and I buying each other Harry Potter merchandise and gushing about how amazing it is. It led to endless gift ideas for me, as you know I’ll love it as I love anything Harry Potter related. It led me to admire the actors from the franchise, to watch them grow alongside me and see how incredible they have become.

Image result for harry potter party

Now that my rant is over, it’s time to party. If you’re a fan (like me!), then share your own story of how you came across Harry Potter, whether it be books or movies or both. Share what house you’re in, and what your favourite characters or moments are. For today, Harry Potter has been around for 20 years, and that is amazing.

Image result for harry potter party

Image result for harry potter party

Image result for harry potter party

Image result for harry potter party

Image result for harry potter book reading

Image result for harry potter book reading

All the images come from Pinterest. I don’t own them.

Angela.

55 thoughts on “Harry Potter Party!

  1. I’m a proud Ravenclaw (I have a post going up tomorrow about it!). My favorite character will always be Hermione. There are so many magical moments over the years but book 3 (and movie 3) are my favorites, although 7 was amazing too. I remember my parents had to drive all over to every bookstore they knew to find one of the books when it was released (maybe 4?) and eventually they learned their lesson and preordered them for me! I saw Deathly Hallows part 1 at midnight in college and then I took my dad to part 2 for his birthday at midnight! My dad loved it but it was a Friday and he was sooooo tired at work the next day. He still says it was an amazing present though! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Ah Yay! I’m excited about your post πŸ˜ƒ Hermione is amazing, but I low-key love Luna a little more πŸ˜‚
      Preordering is important. I borrowed the books from my friends to read the last two. I didn’t start buying and really getting into them till uni πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a hardcore fan too. Glad to know that you love the series too. It’s hard not to love it, right? It’s so hard to believe that it’s been twenty years!!! I’m so obsessed with the series. I’ll be doing a post soon! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love Harry Potter πŸ™‚ I’m planning on reading them again with the bookclub thing pottermore is doing, have you seen it?

    I really fancy doing a marathon at some point too. I think me and my friend managed 5 of them back to back, but it would take more than 24h to watch them all!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I haven’t seen that Pottermore bookclub actually, I might go check it out πŸ˜€
      I have yet to marathon all 8, it would take pretty much 24 hours to watch them all, I don’t think I could do it πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You should check the book club out πŸ™‚ I want to do it but I’m trying to finish the book I’m reading before I start a new one.

        I know, I don’t think I could manage 24h of watching films! I get a bit restless and bored if I’m sitting still for too long. After I finished my exams I planned on watching them all through the week but didn’t get round to it! 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It HAS NOT been 20 years???? Holy crap! That’s mental!! This was my childhood! Me and my friend would queue up the night before outside the book shops to get our hands on the new one being released! My dad would bring us in and we’d wait and wait. Then we’d sit and read until it was finished! The excitement was unreal. I cried at the end of the last movie thinking that’s it….. the end of my childhood is official. What got me started on the first one was I finished The Lord of the rings and my dad found this and I moved over. I never got into the Lord of the Rings movies now but that may be something Ill have to add to my list! Every now and again I’ll pick up a HP book and read it. It’s quite comforting for me! Thanks for sharing! 20 years…. Madness! xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It has been 20 years!! Isn’t that crazy?? I never got the books right on release as i didn’t get really into them until after. But I do remember the excitement of reading them and not putting it down till I was finished! I never read LotR, I tried but i got bored. I really like the movies though!
      Harry Potter is definitely comforting, theres something very lovely and nostalgic about it all πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now i think about it i haven’t had that excitement since this series! Someone needs to up there game and get on this! I loved LOTR. My dad would read these to us in the voices and they were so much fun!!! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I went from movie to book. Well, I was too scared to watch the movie: I was think I was about 7 when the first Harry Potter movie came from out and I was too scared and to watch it I tied a blue blanket around my neck with a white bunny on the corner so Super Meg would watch it. That was where my interest started and I watched the other movies since. I eventually read the books even if it meant asking my sister if I could read them. I have always been into fantasy and magic and that is a big reason why I love Harry Potter

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I got the first book for Christmas when I was in 5th grade I think…I read it within a couple of days and bugged my mum until she bought me the second…then I had to wait impatiently until the Prisoner of Azkaban was released (while re-reading the first two like 10 times at least). In 8th grade I started to read the books in English. Harry Potter on one side and the dictionary on the other. By the way, thanks J.K. Rowling for teaching me English! I have to read them again some day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Harry Potter has been such a big part of my life. It was a family tradition – we’d all read the book and see the film after. It was an emotional time when the last film came out! Great post xx

    Liked by 2 people

  8. So cool! We actually do marathons every year in December and watch them all! But because Alex works we watch one every day for 8 days lol.
    I’m still working on getting the entire book collection πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My older brother and our family friends got me hooked on Harry Potter when we were very little. I have watched all of the movies multiple times, and finally after wanting to read the books but never having time I read them over winter break. Reading the books made me fall in love with HP all over again. It brings back such great memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

