So hey, I’m trying to keep all these titles different for some reason whenever I do a birthday post for my family. Β Just go with it πŸ˜€

So the birthdays in my family go one after the other. In May, it’s myΒ Dad. In June, it’s myΒ Brother. In July, it’s my mum’s turn. So today’s post is all about her πŸ™‚

My mum’s name is Julie. But also, it’s Estrella. She has two names. It’s officially Estrella, but she goes by Julie. Long story. Her and dad have been married for 28 years and together longer than that πŸ˜€ She is also a chatterbox, Mum loves to ramble as much as Dad, and sometime they tag team, where they both comment and jump in on each other’s stories so there’s lots more detail. I credit my love of photos to Mum, as well as my love of travel. It’s thanks to Mum that I got to spend my younger years living in another country.

  • Fun fact, she is a twin. Another fun fact, so is my grandma on my dad’s side, so twins run in my family.
  • Mum was born in the Philippines and spent most her life there. After meeting and subsequently falling in love with Dad, they spent a few years (and got married!) in the Philippines before making the decision to come to New Zealand (where Dad is from) and settle down here.
  • Sewing – Mum has sewing skills that I wish I had the patience to learn. (She can also play guitar, another skill I should try to learn) I could always rely on Mum to help hem something as I had no clue. I can kinda do it now. Also, Mum used to make outfits for us when we were younger.
  • Mum loves taking pictures and documenting all our adventures. I have a huge collection of photos going back from before my birth. This is something which I am slowly (or not so slowly) also doing, and I imagine with my own kids (in the future) I will do the same thing.
  • Selfies – I love that selfies has become a thing in our family. We love taking photos, but sometimes the self timer just isn’t as fun as pulling out that selfie stick.
  • Mum has an endless supply of knowledge about food. She is the one who taught me to bake, and taught me to cook.
  • Free Food – Since moving out, mum often offers food to take home for me (and my sister). This can be leftovers, veggies/fruits from her garden, jam, and so on.
  • The ‘Mum’ voice. You guys know what I mean, right? The growly voice when you know you’re in trouble. Mum was the Queen of using that, and I like to emulate it when I tell off kids at my centre.
  • Keep it tidy – Growing up, mum would often be asking us to tidy our room (understandably). I would like to say it took, but as you guys know things still get a little messy sometimes. Β Eventually I get round to it. On the flip side, my parents place always looks nice.
  • Say what you mean – Mum can be a little blunt at times. Not rude, but she will let you know what she’s thinking. You know where you stand with her.
  • Clothes, Shoes and Beauty – Mum is the one who turned me onto thrift stores (mostly Sallies). You get so much more unique stuff there than regular stores. We’ve gone shopping together and it’s fun! We have different tastes, but we agree on some items πŸ˜€ In fact, Mum and I are similar shoe and clothes sizes, so on occasion clothes I’ve given away have gone to her πŸ™‚ Also, I just want to throw this out there. Mum is beautiful. I’m not just saying that cause she’s my mum (or maybe I am, but it’s true anyway). She looks the same pretty much through all these photos, which I’m hoping is geneticΒ πŸ˜‚
  • Checking in – Mum is the one who loves to check in with us, especially since we moved out. Both Jo and I will get texts, messages or emails from her telling us about what she’s up to, asking what we’re up to and reminding us that she loves us.
  • Wedding – Mum was adorably excited for my wedding. When we announced the engagement, Mum was happy for us but I was low-key expecting a bit more excitement. It wasn’t until a week later when I said that I was starting to plan it that Mum got really excited. (Maybe cause my sister and her partner had already been engaged for a while but no planning seemed to be happening) She started emailing me lots of ideas, and when we were over, she told me about the Filipino traditions of a wedding ceremony. She came with me to my wedding dress fittings. We talked heeeaps about ideas for decorations. As time went on, we realised we couldn’t do all the ideas though, but I think looking back, we can all agree it was pretty perfect πŸ™‚
  • Hugs – Mums give the best hugs. That’s like a rule right?
  • Love – I remember a little convo I had with Mum in the early days of dating Rory. I mean very early days, it was like a week in and I had let slip that I was seeing someone. Mum was very curious and asking questions, and ended it with encouraging me to invite him over so everyone could meet him which I believe freaked me out. Course now he knows my family all too well and is over almost as often as me πŸ™‚ Also, as mentioned in my dad’s post, I view my parents as couple goals πŸ˜€
  • Pride – As always, I know my Mum is proud of me and loves me. She tells me, and she shows me. I’m happy to have her as my mum πŸ™‚

20170624_183940

Happy 53rd Birthday Mum! I love you!!

Angela.

31 thoughts on “Things I Know About My Mum

  1. My families birthdays are spread all throughout the year. January then April then June then August. It is interesting though because my sister and I happen to have the January and April birthdays and my mom and dad have the June and August birthdays.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Aww happy birthday to your absolutely beautiful mom!! πŸ’–πŸ’– moms are the best. She sounds like such a sweet person. They really do give the best hugs!! And I know that ‘mom voice’ you spoke of πŸ˜‚πŸ‘ŒπŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I dunno but I got a bit teary-eyed reading this.

    This is such a heart-warming post about your Mum. She is indeed a beautiful woman, inside and out. And her smile is so warm and so genuine.

    Thanks for sharing these photos, Angela! I wish your Mum a happy birthday! πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, I’m March so there is a gap between us all!☺️ It’s always an expensive time having to buy all those birthday presents on top of Christmas presents round that time of year!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

