Saturday

I woke up at 7 today. As usual I spent morning on blog. I had shower, got dressed, had my usual Saturday breakfast of scrambled eggs on toast and coffee. Also, my ‘Summer Favourites’ box from Marzia arrived yesterday, so I got to go through it!

Summer Favourites Box.jpg

I’m thinking of doing another random review like I did withΒ Angela Tries Beauty BoxΒ for this. Don’t know when I’ll get around to it, but I’ve been having fun playing with a few of the products!

At 9, I was dressed, so we decided to kick off laundry. I put balm on my tattoo, as it is itching like crazy. Basically, it doesn’t hurt anymore, that went away after 3 days. Now it’s just itchy as it peels and flakes. It wasn’t that bad with my little lotus tattoo, but that was quite small and was just line art. This one is huge and has heeeaps of details, so there’s lots more to come off as it heals. I have to resist scratching the whooole day, for the past 4 days, and probably another week or so.

Anyway, weather was fairly nice, so we risked putting laundry outside.

At around 11, we headed off to Karori to check out a few opshops there. Namely Salvation Army and St Vincent’s. You guys may know that I’m joining in on Kali’s thrift list.

Weekend Weather.jpg
Blue skies…so far
Weekend Selfie.jpg
Obligatory car selfie

We went to Karori, and I found a few things off the list, but only one that I liked enough to consider buying. This maxi dress! This one was just $7. It’s miles too long for me, but I can easily hem it. It’s blue and white stripes, it’s a nice cut for me, and it just flows right down. I can’t wait to add it to my dress collection for summer!

Maxi Dress.jpg

In Vinnies, I found two pairs of shoes I liked! The first one was amazing, but so impractical, and I wouldn’t wear them anywhere, but I liked feeling tall in them.

Crazy Shoes.jpg
I was taller than Rory in them, and I constantly felt like I was falling over

Second, I found these amazing flats!! They’re like a hard plastic almost, but so bendy and comfy. I love the floral designs, and it was only $4! I’m definitely going to wear this lots!

Floral Shoes.jpg

Then we went and did our weekly grocery shop.

Grocery.jpg

Weekend Weather 2.jpg
What you doing giant cloud?

Once we got back home, we started unpacking when we noticed some people coming over. The cook from my work lives across the road from us, so I know her and her kids fairly well. I mostly know her daughter, who’s just turned 8. They came over with some extra birthday cake from her party which was super nice!

Birthday Cake.jpg

For lunch I had some pumpkin soup. The pack gave me more than I felt like, so I saved the rest for dinner.

After a short rest, I headed off to the library to give back The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying as I had finally finished reading it. I really liked it! I’ve made notes about how to maximise my next decluttering session, so I’m looking forward to that. No clue about my next book yet. I’m gonna look through my kindle as I have lots to choose from there.

Library.jpg
Blue skies, where did you go? 😦

Afterwards I looked at a few thrift stores on Cuba Street. Paper Bag Princess didn’t really have anything from the list. Neither did Recycled Boutique. Basically, everything there is all for winter stock, as obviously it’s winter. So that is a problem with me trying to do the Thrift List that is more for summer-wear, but I’ll keep trying and see what I can do anyway cause it’s fun.

Then I walked through some stationary stores trying to decide on how to set up wedding album. We’re getting around 50 prints from our photographer, we got it as part of a package which I forgot about, as I was considering a wedding book instead. So now, I ‘m looking at album ideas, but nothing was really jumping out at me.

At around 4, I got back home and said bye to Rory who was going over to meet some friends. I finally got out the vacuum and decluttered a little. I was feeling very proud so I pulled out my little camera and filmed a “House Tour” vlog! That should be up in a few days too!

By 6, I was tired so I had my leftover soup for dinner. Then I hopped back on blog and wrote a few posts. I did dishes at around 7pm, then kept blogging till 10 when I went to bed.

Sunday

We woke up at around 8. As usual I started into blog. I watched Pamela’sΒ Q’n’A! I love being able to see my lovely blogger friends in video form! πŸ˜€

Weekend 1.jpg
Hey there

As I kept watching, Rory and I decided to have a big breakfast. We were planning on skipping lunch as we had open homes around that time. So I baked chocolate chip pancakes, Rory cooked bacon and banana, and then we made blueberry, banana and lemon smoothie!

Weekend 2.jpg

We finished cooking around 9.30 so we had a late breakfast. After this, I carried on blogging. At around 11, we finally got dressed for the day.Β We left at around 12 to get to the first open home, which is around a half-hour drive from town.

The first open home was 12-12.30, so we had a look. It was alright, it definitely needs some work, but we liked it altogether.

Weekend 3.jpg
Another car selfie

The next open home wasn’t till 1, so we hit a thrift store called Rebound nearby. It’s a huge store filled with second hand clothes. I ran into the same problem, there is more winter stock than summer things, but I still managed to get a few more off the Thrift List.

These high-waisted shorts for $6.90. And this long flowy top (elephants!!) for $6.45.

At the front they also had a whole basket full of bracelets where you could get 3 for 10 cents, so I grabbed a couple. They all feel summery to me (I don’t quite know what makes a bracelet a summer bracelet, but I’m gonna go ahead and cross this off the list) πŸ˜€

20170709_182927.jpg

Thrift list.JPG

At 1, we headed to the second place. We didn’t quite like this one, it didn’t feel well insulated, and needed lots more work than the first one we saw. So then we headed home, where it started pouring with rain.

Weekend 8.jpg
So much rain
Weekend 7.jpg
Rainbow!

Nice and warm at home, we just did our own thing for a while. For me, that meant more blogging. We wanted some noise so I put on The Amazing Spider-Man 2 which we hadn’t watched as we heard it was bad. It was bad, it was also a total mess of a movie, but it worked fine as background noise.

Then we had dinner at 5.30, we’d bought some pizza from our grocery yesterday as it’s nice and easy.

Weekend 9.jpg

We went back to doing our own thing and just chilled for the rest of the night.

To-Do List

  • Grocery – of course
  • Laundry – again, of course
  • Film a vlog of some kind – House Tour! I’m thinking Wednesday to post it.
  • Visit Opshops for Kali’s thrift list – Quite a lot actually, got a few for the list, and a few not on it
  • Return book to libraryΒ – finally
  • Look for possible wedding photo albums – still not inspired
  • Do some cleaning, at least vacuum! – yes, and some bonus tidying
  • Open Homes – as always yes, but we’re not sure too sure if we want to go for any
  • Baking something – not this weekend
  • Write and schedule posts for upcoming weekΒ  – yep

That’s it for my weekend. How was yours? πŸ™‚

Angela.

35 thoughts on “Weekend Review #9

  1. Friday that day I volunteered at Loaves and Fishes, which is a food pantry at my church: well I have been volunteering there every Friday this summer. Saturday, my sister and I spent time with one of her friends. Sunday, started with church and now just relaxing at home. I feel like every weekend feels about the same this summer. Obviously, there is keeping up with this blog, which is easier to do over the summer than over a school year

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a productive weekend you had angela πŸ™‚ Friday, I exercised, went to coffee shop to work on a blog post and went to my local snow cone place with a friend and played apples to apples for a bit. Saturday, I spent a good portion of the day driving, took a nap, looked at blog posts, watched law&order and went back to sleep. Sunday, I went to church came back made brunch, now working on homework :).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ANGELA! I love what you found off The Thrift List! You’ve found some amazing items. I love the dress and think that all of the bracelets can be summery. This is so much fun that you’re doing it with me! xx.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the elephant flowy top that is super cute! I feel like there’s so many good finds at thrift shops, I just wish there were more around me! The flats are super cute, they have such a nice summery feel to them. Also what are burger ring chips?!!? And why don’t we have that here lol *creeping in the shopping cart* πŸ˜‰

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thrift stores can be so good for finding unique stuff, a lot of the times for me though, I don’t find much. But I lucked out this weekend πŸ˜€
      Haha, burger ring chips are weird to describe. They’re like big rings, that taste kinda like cheesy burgers πŸ˜‚ It’s a NZ brand called Bluebird that make them πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

