Get to Know Angela

Well hey guys. I don’t really have a coherent reason for doing this post other than, I have a lot of new followers since I last did any kind of Q’n’A or get to know me type thing. So hey, I’m going to tell you new people some things about myself, that some of my older followers may already know.

So.

Basics

My name is Angela. I am 25 years old. I’m going to be turning 26 this December.

I was born in New Zealand and have lived here for most of my life. I also spent a few years living in the Philippines when I was younger. My Dad is from New Zealand (his name is Jeff), and my mum is from the Philippines (her name is Julie) so I never know what to put in those ethnicity boxes for forms.

I got married earlier this year to this guy, and we’ve been together for almost 6 years now. He’s cool I guess. His name is Rory.

I have an older sister. She’s only older by 16 months, Mum sometimes says it was a bad idea to have a baby while still taking care of a toddler. My sister’s name is Jo.

I also have a younger brother. He’s younger by 78 months (6 years and 6 months). That’s a bigger age difference. His name is Andrew.

I work as a daycare teacher. Primarily for the infants and toddlers, so the under 2’s. I love my job for the most part. There’s more good days to bad days, and now that I’ve been in the centre for almost three years, it does feel like a giant family. I invited all my co-workers to my wedding. They’re cool. So are all the kids, and their parents/families.

Appearance

I’m short. Really short. Like 153 cm or something like that. I think that’s barely 5 foot. All the kids I teach will outgrow me.

20151025_120808

I am short sighted. Very short sighted…in my left eye. My right eye isn’t actually that bad. My optometrist mentioned it was unusual to have such a huge sight difference in my eyes. The prescription for my left eye is like -3.75 and my right eye is only -1.25. So I wear glasses, or contacts. I go through waves of preference.

I only have the typical ear lobe piercing, but I would like to get another ear piercing maybe.

I have two tattoos, a lotus above my ankle, and a full mandala on my upper arm. I got both of them were this year. But I want more. So much more..

Growing Up

I moved around a lot growing up. I think the longest place we stayed in was for 6 or 7 years. I didn’t mind it, moving house was always exciting. So in movies where people talk about their childhood home…it doesn’t mean much to me.

I was a typical nerd/geek (ish) growing up (maybe it was the glasses). I disliked sports (except for a brief period where I played Netball, but I don’t think I was good). I was good at maths and science (until senior year of high school where I just lost interest in them). I once got an award for making 100% attendance (I’m still proud of that). I got good grades and such, and hung around with the other ‘smart’ kids. I came first in History and Music in my last year of High School, which I’m also still proud of. I played flute in our Concert band.

I studied and completed a Bachelor of Music at University. But I majored in Studies and Theory rather than Performance which confuses people. I then went back to get a Graduate Diploma of Teaching, majoring in Early Childhood Studies.

Hobbies

I also play piano and ukulele. Sort of. Piano I played for years, until I stopped one day and now I occasionally go on my keyboard. I can still read music and do my scales though, so that’s something. The ukulele I’m on again off again with, but I know the basic chords.

I can ride a bike. Not well. But alright.

I like taking photos of things. Sometimes I spend ages trying to get that perfect shot, other times I think “Good enough”.

I also really like baking. It’s relaxing, and at the end of it, you get delicious food.

I’m pretty good at binge watching tv shows and YouTube clips, but sitting down to watch a movie takes too much effort.

If I really like a game, then I will lose days to it, but otherwise I haven’t been playing games much.

This blog has taken over so much of my free time. As has watching YouTube, and just spending time on the internet in general.

life of angela transparent

Travel

I travelled a lot around New Zealand growing up, especially for our summer holidays. I miss that.

I have since done some travelling with a friend, and then with Rory. Both around New Zealand, and overseas. This includes Peru, Australia and Fiji.

We are making tentative plans to visit Japan sometime over the next few years. As well as some spots around New Zealand we haven’t been to. Like Rotorua and Queenstown.

So yeah, that ended up being 25 random little tidbits about me. I occasionally rambled, but if you follow me, you know that happens a lot. So thanks for sticking by with me those who’ve been around for a while, and hi to those who have recently started following me! I used to do milestone celebrations for each new 100 followers I got, but since reaching 1000, I haven’t. Which I kinda feel bad about, cause I’m so happy and thankful when someone decides to follow me! You guys make blogging so much more fun!!

Now it’s your turn. Share a random tidbit about yourself in the comments!

Angela.

28 thoughts on “Get to Know Angela

    1. Thanks Amielle! My lotus tattoo was fairly small and just took 20 minutes. Bur my Mandala tattoo was pretty full on and took three hours ? I absolutely adore it though ?
      I know very little of Tagalog now. It’s one of my regrets, I really hope to relearn it one day!

      Like

  1. For some reason I didn’t realise you where a December baby!!! Thats crazy!! Great month!! Not as amazing as a May baby now but your ok kid πŸ™‚

    My star sign always confuses me. I’m born on the cusp, sometimes horoscopes say i’m a taurus, sometimes they say I’m a gemini. I think i fall on Taurus more personality wise. But what if I’m really a gemini…. Thats a tibet I think about way to much hahahaha

    xx

    Like

    1. December babies are the best!! πŸ˜›
      Ha, that’s funny that your horoscopes can’t decide which one you are. I never thought about those who are on the cusp of two star signs πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. I think there was a typo there Ang, did you mean May babies??? πŸ™‚
        I never thought of that… that kinda is a good explanation of me alright! Ye, there is a few of us alright, it happens every sign πŸ™‚ xx

        Like

  2. I was the same with maths and science until high school, I think the mathematical part of my brain decided it wanted to sleep (and is still hibernating even now!) I love this post, it’s really interesting to read more about you! πŸ™‚
    Caz x

    Like

  3. Nice getting to know you more! I really loved reading this? A December baby, are you close to Christmas?
    Jeff & Julie is so cute sounding lol I always hear parents say not to have kids so close in age but some prefer it. I had thoughts about working in a daycare or school before, I love kids. I’d still consider it but it’s not at the top of my list. I’d love to play piano someday ✨

    Like

    1. Thank you!! I’m on December 9 so theres a few weeks before Christmas ?
      It’s the alliteration I think ? Jeff and Julie, Jack and Jill. It just sounds sweet. Everyone has their own parenting preferences. I love little kids. You could look at doing casual work at a centre someday, its a great way to see if it’s something you want to do more ?

      Like

  4. I loved reading this post, I find it so interesting getting to know more about the bloggers I read! I also have a big age difference between my youngest sibling and I. I’m 24 and my younger brother is 15 years old. I really feel the generational gap between us now, I’m his totally uncool older sister xD My older brother is only two years older than me and we somehow became friends as adults so that was nice!

    I was a music major too! Just two diplomas, not a bachelor though. I’m always excited when I meet someone who studied music too haha!

    Your wedding picture is so beautiful! What a great shot!

    Like

      1. Right!? Maybe when we’re older the age gap won’t seem so bad!
        I did a bit of both, we had theory and arranging classes I specialized more in performance. There was also a composition major which I didn’t take that it was more theory based!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s