How I Pack for a Trip

This post isn’t really necessary but here’s what I’m bringing on my big Japan trip! Let’s break this down by group.

travel bag 01

Clothing

This probably isn’t the first step you should think about when planning for a trip, but it’s always what comes on my mind. I have to take into account how long the trip is, what activities we’ll be doing, and what the weather will be like.

So, we’re out of the country for 10 days. Not a super long trip, but longer than a weekend getaway. So I want options, which means bringing a bit more clothes than probably necessary. I plan on visiting a lot of places, so we’ll be walking around a lot. So most of what I bring needs to have the comfort factor. But throw in a few nicer items for those special occasions should they arise.

I end up with a mixture of short/long sleeves, one pieces, pants, skirts, light layers, and necessary undergarments. For shoes, I’ve brought a mixture of flats and wedges (for small trips), and giant combat boots and sneakers for all day comfort. Basically, my whole summer/spring wardrobe but condensed to favourites and necessities. It takes up around 50-60% of my luggage really. I do pack it in quite tight, the bottom ones I roll up, and then the top layers are stacked on top of each other. Under all that are the shoes.

travel bag 02

Personals

This includes makeup, which I’ve already dedicated a post to. What’s left is general hygiene care, skincare and haircare. For this, I want to only bring the essentials (or what I view as essential). Those products and tools that I use on a daily basis and don’t want to go without.

Obviously, this includes the general things like toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, and deodarant. I am also short-sighted, so I like to bring contacts so I have the option to not wear glasses.

As for hair care, I like to bring my own shampoo, but that’s cause I’m picky and don’t trust hotel shampoo for my fussy hair. Most places have a hairdryer, but not a straightener, so I bring that. Also, hair ties and general bobby pins. I could probably leave without these…but I want to bring them.

As for skin care, I used to only bring moisturizer, but now I also bring my two Derma E products. The vitamin c serum is refreshing on my face, and the Overnight Peel does wonders on pesky breakouts. This takes up another decent chunk of space.

travel bag 03

Bags

I like to bring around a little crossbody bag for everyday wear, as sometimes I don’t have pockets for things. I’m also packing my camera bag, to protect my camera. My actual camera however comes with me on my carry-on bag. I wouldn’t leave that in my luggage bag.

travel bag 04

That’s pretty much it really. The last thing I do is wrap up all those things with my big jacket I bring for when it’s really cold. To try cushion them all.

travel bag 05

Now we move onto my carry-on bag. It’s a very old bag, but it’s been with me for so long, I don’t really want to replace it.

Electronics

Both things to entertain me, but also necessities in this day and age.

Obviously, my phone. I also will be bringing my DSLR camera, kindle, and iPod. Also, an adaptor, and chargers for all these things.

Essentials

Passport, because how will I leave the country otherwise. Tickets and general booking forms tend to stay in my carry-on bag as I like to be official and have these things printed. Most are available on apps, but I like having the hard copy as well for peace of mind.

travel bag 06

That’s effectively everything. There’s bits and bobs I may not have mentioned, but otherwise I feel quite happy with everything I’ve listed!

travel bag 07

How do you guys pack when you go away on a big trip? Do you consider yourself an overpacker or an underpacker?

Angela.

Find me elsewhere:

Instagram            Pinterest                  YouTube                 Bloglovin’