Morning Skincare Routine (Collab with Emily Knows Makeup)

Emily approached me on Instagram about doing a collab. I love doing posts with fellow bloggers, and we decided to talk about skincare routine. I haven’t done a post like this before, and while I’ve loosely talked about it before, I thought it would be fun to do a full post. I’ll be talking about my morning routine, and Emily will be talking about her evening routine over on her blog.

Fun fact, we both assumed the other was based in the US, as we’re used to most bloggers being based there (or in Europe lol). However, Emily is in Australia, and I’m in New Zealand, so our skincare routines are based around the wintry season we’re currently in. Anyway, let’s get into it!

morning routine

My skincare routine has always been simple. I used to do nothing for the longest time, but I’m slowly building up a routine. Very basic, but it means I can do it quite quickly which is great as I’m always rushing in the mornings.

Cleanser

cleanser

I’ve only tried a handful of cleansers, but this one has by far been my favourite. Since using this cleanser, I’ve noticed less breakouts and my skin is pretty well-behaved. That’s a win in my book. It doesn’t foam when I use it (I like playing with foam), but other than that I have no actual complaints. My face doesn’t feel dry after using the cleanser, it just feels fresh and smooth. Once you find a cleanser that works for you, you want to stick with it. At least that’s my thought process.

Serum

serum

This is another one that I’ve tried a bunch of. Most of them are from previous subscription boxes. The one that I’m currently using and have used the longest is this one. Derma E Vitamin C Concentrated Serum. A mouthful of a title. Anyway, after having cleaning my face, I like rubbing this into my skin. It just feels (and smells) really nice. Also, I was never really sure what the point of a serum was. So I looked up the marketing information of this serum. Apparently it’s a skincare product that goes deeper into your skin than a moisturizer. So it aims to brighten skin, minimize fine lines and wrinkles and improve the appearance of uneven skin tone. I will say that my skin does look brighter after a few months of using this. Maybe it’s a placebo effect, but I do love this serum!

Moisturizer

moisturizer

Finally, I end on a moisturizer. I have always liked this Aveeno moisturizer. I use it on my face daily and I feel refreshed afterwards. This is especially needed in winter as I love having scalding hot showers and baths.

That’s my whole routine! Three steps and I’m done. Then I start on my makeup and whatever else I need to do in the morning.

Be sure to check out Emily’s blog and see what her skincare routine is in the evening!

What’s your current skincare routine like?

Angela.