What I Learned In University

So I thought this would be a fun little series to start, where I share what I learned in different phases in my life. I wanted to start with University. I was thinking about High School, but that is now so long ago that my brain blanked when I tried to think of things I learnt back in High School. Good job, brain. However, I can still remember what I learned back in university.

I started university in 2010. I studied for three years and completed my Bachelor of Music. Then, I took a gap year, then went back for a year and completed my Graduate of Teaching Diploma in early Childhood. Here’s what I learnt during my time there, not related to what I was studying.

  • It’s okay to skip the occasional class.

Yes okay. I did skip one or two classes sometimes, but I planned ahead with those! I made sure that there wasn’t a test that day, or nothing super important was being covered. If I felt a little run down, or I had some other assignments to catch up on, then I would sometimes just stay at home or in the library. You need it, and it meant that instead of being unfocused in class, I was focused elsewhere. If you told this to high school me, I think she would flip out and freak. Skipping a class (even if your brain is fried) was unthinkable.

  • You’ll get addicted to some kind of caffeine

Coffee, energy drinks, tea, sodas, you’ll end up picking up one of these as a habit from university. Or maybe you started early in high school. I would drink it once or twice in high school, but I wasn’t really fond of it. By the end of university, I was hooked on it, and had adjusted to weird sleeping patterns depending on what assignments I was working on.

  • You’ll meet like-minded people

After high school, I drifted into another group of friends. It’s hard to see the same group everyday if you’re studying different subjects, and even more if you’re at different universities. It just happens. You will however meet people who you click with and have the same interests. I met some amazing people while studying music. We would have arguments and conversations about soundtracks and classical music that I wouldn’t have had with anyone else. Also, we all went together to see the final Harry Potter movie at midnight.

  • You’ll get overwhelmed

Some more than others, but everyone will have a mini freak out or even a meltdown. There’s a lot more work that goes into university studies. You’re learning things a lot more in-depth than you did before, and you’re squeezing this into a shorter amount of time.  Sometimes your brain just freaks, and you need to have a cry. Or multiple cries. Stop, take a breath, and take a break, or talk to someone. But don’t keep trying to force yourself to work. Your brain won’t co-operate after a certain point.

  • You’ll make your parents proud

So this one is pretty cute. Obviously, my own parents were very proud of me for graduating and getting my degree. They came to the graduation ceremony, clapped, yelled ‘woo’ when I got my diploma on stage etc. But the story that sticks out in my mind is one of a friend’s. His mum pretty much followed us to the back where we were lining up to come to our seats. She was taking lots of photos, waving, and had permanent tears in her eyes. She was so beyond excited, you couldn’t help but smile. It was a night full of proud families and loved ones, which was just so wonderful.

That’s all I can think of for now. I think five is a good number to wrap it up at! Anything else you guys would like to add to this list?

Angela.

Find me elsewhere:

Instagram                   Pinterest                  YouTube                  Bloglovin’